



# Winners Announced for the 2023 Greater Victoria Sports Awards

Top athletes, teams and coaches to be honoured at Government House on February 29, 2024

Victoria, BC - February 26, 2024

The Selection Committee for the Greater Victoria Sports Awards, sponsored by the Victoria Foundation, is proud to announce the following award winners for achievements during the 2023 sports calendar:

# Female Athlete of the Year

Mel Pemble, Para-Cycling

## Male Athlete of the Year

Diego Maffia, Basketball

# Female High School Athlete of the Year

Adia Pye, Rugby & Basketball

# Male High School Athlete of the Year

Blake Swan, Lacrosse

## Female College/University Athlete of the Year

Kathryn Lee, Weightlifting

## Male College/University Athlete of the Year

Diego Maffia, Basketball

#### Female Master Athlete of the Year

Catrin Jones, Long Distance Running

## Male Master Athlete of the Year

Robert Bettauer, Tennis

# Alex Nelson 'Ok'wilagame' Indigenous Female Athlete of the Year

Shalaya Valenzuela, Rugby

## Alex Nelson 'Ok'wilagame' Indigenous Male Athlete of the Year

Maddox Moon, Soccer

## Team of the Year

Team Gauthier, Curling

#### Coach of the Year:

Krista Thompson, Field Hockey

## Pat Hall Volunteer Award

Keith Butler, Track & Field

## John & Marilyn Bate Organization of the Year Award

Victoria Reign, Capital Region Female Minor Hockey Association

The winners will be honoured at an awards ceremony on **Thursday**, **February 29**, **2024**, at Government House from 6:15 pm to 8:30 pm.

The Victoria Sports Awards were an annual fixture on the Victoria sports calendar between 1968 and 2006— celebrating the achievements of Greater Victoria athletes, teams, coaches and volunteers. The Greater Victoria Sport Tourism Commission is pleased to be honouring excellence again by helping to relaunch the awards.

The first awards for 1967 took place in April 1968 at the Empress Hotel, thanks to the efforts of the former Daily Colonist and Times Colonist reporter Gorde Hunter, along with the Kiwanis Club of Saanich and the Victoria Sports Council.

To learn more about the event's history, along with previous award winners, videos and newspaper articles of the day, please visit gysa.ca.

# Tickets for the awards are \$75 and available at: gvsa.ca until Wednesday, February 28th

## 2023 Selection/Nominations Committee:

- · Keith Wells, Chair
- Jordan Cunningham
- Mark de Frias
- · Cleve Dheensaw
- Stacey Lund
- Dorothy Paul
- Jaclyn Snell

#### 2024 Greater Victoria Sports Awards Committee:

- Cathy Noel, Co-Chair
- · Keith Wells, Co-Chair
- Janis Cookson
- · Brianna Waldman

For more information, please contact:

Keith Wells Executive Director, Greater Victoria Sport Tourism Commission keith.wells@victoriasporttourism.com 250-217-8459

Greater Victoria Sport Tourism Commission
600, 765 Broughton Street, Victoria, BC V8W 1E2
victoriasporttourism.com
The GVSTC is based on the homelands of the Songhees and Esquimalt People.